Escolha uma Página

The Strasbourg Agreement is a treaty administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) that allows for the international registration of marks. This agreement was signed on March 24, 1971, in Strasbourg, France, and has been in force since 1979.

This treaty aims to simplify the registration process for trademarks by providing a centralized system for registering and renewing trademarks in multiple countries. This is achieved by allowing trademark owners to file a single application with WIPO, which then registers the trademark in the countries that the owner designates.

The Strasbourg Agreement also helps to simplify the process of maintaining trademarks by providing a single renewal date and fee for all registered trademarks. This means that businesses can save both time and money by avoiding the need to renew their trademarks in each individual country.

One of the most significant benefits of the Strasbourg Agreement is its ability to protect trademarks internationally. This is a critical consideration for businesses looking to expand their operations into new markets. By registering their trademarks internationally, businesses can ensure that their brand name and reputation are protected across multiple jurisdictions.

The Strasbourg Agreement has over 80 member countries, including the United States, Japan, China, and European countries such as France, Germany, and the United Kingdom. As a result, it provides an essential tool for businesses who are looking to expand globally.

As a professional, I recommend that businesses looking to expand their operations globally should consider utilizing the Strasbourg Agreement to protect their trademarks. By registering their trademarks internationally, they can ensure that their brand name is protected across multiple jurisdictions, allowing them to focus on growing their business.